World Time Format

Official Time Specification

This document is the official explanation of how time is represented in World Time Format.

Time Divisions

The day is divided into 26 hours, starting with hour A and ending with hour Z. These hours are then divided into 26 minutes. Finally, each minute is divided into 26 seconds.

  • 1 alphabetic hour = 55 minutes, 23 seconds
  • 1 alphabetic minute = 2 minutes, 8 seconds
  • 1 alphabetic second = 4.9 seconds

By further dividing an alphabetic second into 26 subseconds, you can express the time more accurately. There is no limit to how precisely you can express time.

  • :CH = 9:05 PM
  • :CHO = 9:06:49 PM
  • :CHOC = 9:06:50.0 PM
  • :CHOCOLATERAIN = 9:06:50.03... PM

Time Format

Times always start with a colon. Times are always capitalized.

Time Synchronization

:A denotes the first hour of the day, and is always noon UTC. Here are some examples of how it syncs up with local time:

  • :A is 7:00 am Eastern Standard Time.
  • :A is 8:00 am Eastern Daylight Time.
  • :A is 4:00 am Pacific Standard Time.
  • :A is 5:00 am Pacific Daylight Time.